Many of the Lake Como and
lake side towns had fortification and defensive
positions depending on which feudal element
was in charge at that time. Argegno was
part of a defensive system, which extended
as far as the ancient villa of Lenno and
the Isola Comacina to repel their enemies.
The centre of the village, as you may imagine
is very old and certainly picturesque.
The town is crossed by the Telo river (late
winter) or stream (summer) and is divided
into two parts, which are joined by an
old stone bridge with a arch.
Many people visit the Sanctuary of Sant'Anna
which was built in the seventeenth century
and subsequently renovated. Inside this
old church is stucco work and frescoes
from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
The Oratory of San Rocco in Pigra from
the fifteenth century also contains frescoes
from 1662 signed by S. Pozzi.Coveniently from
Argegno it is possible to take a cable
car up to Mt. Pigra (height: - 881 mts),
which is actually a decent sized plateau
on that enjoys spectacular views of the
lake. From here, it is possible to trek
to the Valle della Camoggia, part of the
Argegno-Cima della Duaria conservation